coke goes back to the ’80s

August 5, 2006 at 8:09 am Leave a comment

finalcoke.jpg

Remember the original Coke yoyos? All those competitions in the ’80s? Learning to do the `cradle’ and ‘walk the dog’? It’s all so vivid to me. I would burn through the yoyo strings, I think I even broke a window once when a string snapped. Oh, it’s really embarrassing, it’s all coming back to me now, remember Yomegas? (’90s.) Had to have one. Mine glowed in the dark when spinning.

I can still do the cradle and walk the dog. The skills I attained in my youth, it’s mind-blowing.

Anyway, they’re back! And they’re not just back as in on the shelves, they are back looking identical to the way they did then. I don’t remember getting them in a boxed set (in fact, I thought you had to save tokens or something, but I could be wrong there), but the bottles are replicas of the ones sold in the ’80s and the yoyos look the same, except for the ‘2006 limited edition’ bit.

This is getting blogged because I get this uncontrollable warm fuzzy feeling whenever the ’80s are mentioned: the carefree attitude of being a shameless kid, a time when Coke only meant one thing, when the music made you dance funny and “Stand by Me” was the ultimate movie that we all ‘related to’ … aaaaaahhhhhh (that reminds me, I still have to check in on Wil Wheaton every now and then — www.wilwheaton.net and “in exile” at wilwheaton.typepad.com — just to remind me that he is no longer 12, and much as I like to pretend, neither am I).

I could go on, but at some point we would run into “Teen Wolf” and Michael J. Fox, I’d get misty-eyed and probably lose even more friends.

Entry filed under: hidden agenda, other bits and bobs, products.

number one hair dos baby on board

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free with my drink

Recent Posts


