not evolving fast enough

June 6, 2006 at 11:05 am Leave a comment

SN250244.JPG

I know this Microsoft Office 'Are you working in a bygone era' campaign is worldwide (www.microsoft.com), but did everyone get their own perspex-cased, perfectly preserved dino-salaryman?

Saw this at a station and instantly sympathized with it.

Where I do most of my data processing is not an 'evolved' environment. In fact I am often hooked up to hardware that, judging from their serial numbers, could be older than myself.

Recently, new regulations have also stipulated that all data retrieval/processing units past their original warranty date are only to be allowed a limited 'work space.' This work space is to be a full arms-length of the data-retrieval/processing unit by four of its head widths.

Luckily I have a wide ape-factor arms length and my head is big.

Still, fitting the decades-old hardware that I need to be hooked up to every day into my new space isn't easy. I am beginning to feel like Mr. Dinosaur in his perspex box.

If only Microsoft Office really could help.

Entry filed under: hidden agenda, other bits and bobs.

oooii! it’s another kiosk a plug from robotomi, no adapter

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free with my drink

wondamag1.JPG

teapen.JPG

More Photos

Recent Posts


